Headteacher's Weekly Bulletin 29th April 2019

Dear Parents and Carers,

Here are a few bits and bobs of information for you - another short week beckons! Pupils won't be in on Thursday as it is local elections and we are a Polling Station, but staff will be in training with MPIS. We are also off on Monday 6th May for Bank Holiday Monday. The children (and staff) are all at sixes and sevens at the moment as we have lost our routine!

Year 6 have started 'Mock Sats Week' today. This is really useful exercise: it gives the pupils the opportunity to have a go at the tests in the way the real test will be run during SATs week, teachers and pupils can mark the tests together as a learning opportunity and helps us remember how many tables we can actually fit in the hall without children sitting on top of each other! We had lots of parents come to our SATs meeting last week and we hope you and the pupils found it helpful. 

Parent Questionnaires

Thank you for the 60 questionnaires we have received back so far - they have been extremely positive. Mrs Willett in the office is going to to pull all the replies together and I will report back in my bulletin next week. Please send any questionnaires back in by Friday please so that your views can be counted.

Calendar

The calendar on the website has been updated and has all the dates in you need to know to the end of July - please check reguarly because if we get the chance to take part in anything we always say "Yes" and it is easy for us to update the website as we go along. I've attached a list of key dates on this bulletin and there are paper copies in the office.

Summer Term Club Calendar

All clubs are now up and running. If you didn't put your child down for anything, we have a few spaces in several clubs so just ask at the office and they will check the registers for you. Please remember to email school or leave a message 'Press 1' option if your child is supposed to be doing a club but can't come that week - it saves us making lots of phonecalls to chase up pupils we know have been in school that day.

Please sign up to ParentPay even if you don't have school dinners - remember from September 2019 we are trying to go (mostly) paper-free.

Best Wishes, 

Mrs Nunwick

Diary Dates May/June/July 2019

Thursday 2nd May

  • School closed to pupils (Local Elections)

Friday 3rd May

  • Normal School Day!

Monday 6th May

  • School closed for Bank Holiday Monday

Tuesday 7th May

  • Lights out Competition (Eco Committee)

Thursday 9th May

  • 3.30 pm Lostock Big Cross Country

Friday 10th May

  • Race for Life Sponsorship forms going out
  • Y5 Playground leader training

Monday 13th May

  • Y6 SATs week

Friday 17th May

  • Non Uniform Day – please bring in £1 towards prizes for the PTFA Family Quiz/Fun night (even if you can’t come this is a great way to support us)

Monday 19th May

  • Y4 litter pick in Moss Park

Wednesday 22nd May

  • Y6 Leavers’ Photos – please make sure your child looks super smart with full uniform on. These photos are ‘casual poses’ and they look adorable! They are a lovely souvenir and we put them all in a Leavers’ Book too.

Wednesday 22nd May

  • Movie Afternoon £2 (all classes). We ask year 6 to raise some money towards their Leavers’ Hoodies – their letter to follow!

Thursday 23rd May

  • POSSIBLE closure day for European Elections (watch this space)

Friday 24th May

  • Race for Life – whole school

Friday 24th May

  • Golden Afternoon + Team competitions
  • School closes for 2 week Whit holiday
  • Ice Pop Friday starts at 3.30 pm on the playground (Y6/PTFA)

Mr Jordan’ TeachingSport Holiday Club (for Year 1 – Year 6) will be running in the second week Monday 3rd June to Friday 7th June. Leaflets have gone out.

 

Monday 10th June

  • Back to school for our final half term!

Tuesday 11th June

  • Playground health and safety inspection

Thursday 13th June

  • Y6 Anti-Social Behaviour learning workshop session 1

Monday 17th June

  • Year 3 trip to Liverpool
  • Fire Service to visit Y6 – safety workshops

Tuesday 18th June

  • Y3 litter pick on Moss Park

Wednesday 19th June

  • Sports Day (attempt 1)

Thursday 20th June

  • Y6 Anti-Social Behaviour learning workshop session 2

Friday 21st June

  • PTFA Family Quiz Night (details and tickets to follow)

Thursday 27th June

  • Y6 Anti-Social Behaviour learning workshop session 3

Friday 28th June

  • Non-Uniform Day (prizes for hampers for Summer Fair)

Monday 8th July

  • STEM Family Learning Open Week
  • PDSA Canine Communication workshops all day

Thursday 11th July

  • Y3/4/5/6 Science demonstrations all day

Friday 12th July

  • PTFA Summer Fair 2pm – 4.30 pm

Tuesday 16th July

  • Y3 Trafford Music Extravaganza (morning)

Tuesday 16th July

  • Y6 Leavers’ Play 6pm

Wednesday 16th July

  • Y3 Egyptian Assembly for parents 9.15 am

Thursday 18th July

  • Annual Reports out today

Friday 19th July

  • Y6 to Robinwood

Tuesday 23rd July

  • Parents Drop-ins after school to discuss reports if needed

Wednesday 24th July

  • Spanish day of Culture

Thursday 25th July

  • Celebration Assembly

Friday 26th July

  • Leavers Assembly
  • School breaks up

 

STAFF LOGIN
PARENT LOGIN
SCHOOL BLOGS